





Shepp's Sait steams into Bendigo

Shepparton's Tony Sait has raced to a remarkable victory in the RetireInvest Eaglehawk to Bendigo Footrace.

It was the 42nd running of the Bendigo Athletic Club's Feature Race, the richest Professional Footrace in Country Victoria. Sait ran a time of 26.26 minutes for the 6500 metre event, cruising to a 31 second victory, one of the biggest winning margins in the race's history and walked away with the winner's cheque of \$1,000.00.

In second place was Eaglehawk's Geoff Graham, with Melbourne Caitlyn Haala in third place.

Tony Sait, the long time Bendigo Athletic Club veteran member has been in great form and was considered the pre-race favorite after a great run into third place at the recent Woodlands 8km event in Greenvale.

Sait also picked up the first over 50 award, whilst second placed Geoff Graham was first novice runner.

Third placed Caitlyn Haala claimed first female on handicap, as well as the fastest female on the day with a time of 25.55 minutes.



Fastest time honours went to 1994 Commonwealth Games Marathon silver medallist Sean Quilty, with a time of 20.52 minutes, ahead of Matthew Smith 22.00 & Murray Harding 22.20.

Next Sunday's race is Race 7 of the Club Run season, the Schultz & Stewart 6500 metre handicap at the Wellsford Rifle Range.

The Children's race over 1000 metres will commence at 10.00am, followed by the 6500 metres at 10.30am

For more information about the Bendigo Athletic Club, please contact Club Secretary-Mark Findlay 54440040 or 0417 556738, otherwise check out the CLUB WEBSITE at;

www.bendigoathleticclub.org.au

Results;

Kesuit	<u>59</u>	
1	Tony Sait	26.26.0
2	Geoff Graham	28.07.0
3	Caitlyn Haala	25.55.0
4	Jessica O'Hara	27.23.0
5	Wayne James	24.27.0
6	David Ottrey	24.54.0
7	Tom Hesimovic	24.21.0
8	Matthew Smith	22.00.0
9	Josh Sait	23.11.0
10	Kerrieanne Hocking	27.57.0
11	Kevin Shanahan	25.25.0
12	Anthony Hutchison	24.17.0
13	Austin Beamish	26.29.0
14	Murray Harding	22.20.0
15	Adam Parker	24.46.0
16	John Rose	25.47.0
17	Lionel Stewart	24.50.0
18	Jim Berrington	25.00.0
19	Keith Lofthouse	29.17.0
20	David Page	22.37.0
21	Brendan O'Brien BAC	23.08.0
22	Brendan O'Brien VCCL	24.11.0
23	Greg Hilson	23.47.0
24	Greg Foran	23.12.0
25	Ryan Shelton	27.28.0
26	Andrew Solty	23.18.0
27	Paul Bennett	25.19.0
28	Rick Ermel	23.23.0
29	Peter LeBusque	25.51.0
30	Jeremy Bolton	25.55.0
31	Craig O'Hara	30.58.0
32	Fiona Polkinghorne	30.24.0
33	Tony Moran	22.49.0
34	Sean Quilty	20.52.0
35	Ashley Snowden	25.04.0
36	Lachlan Shelton	26.05.0

ı		ı
37	Allan McCullen	33.05.0
88	Roy McKenzie	32.33.0
)	Leon Brooks	25.12.0
)	Grant Findlay	27.42.0
	Jacob Nolan	23.31.0
2	Kirrily Burnett	26.47.0
	Ray O'Connor	29.37.0
	Colin Davis	24.43.0
;	Kathy Heagney	31.34.0
	Hugo Sarpa	25.00.0
	Irene James	32.27.0
	Richard Schultz	31.03.0
	Terry Crome	26.05.0
	David Woods	25.16.0
	Tony Rendina	28.32.0
	Steve Baird	27.43.0
	Rob Findlay	24.19.0
	Charlene Rendina	29.45.0
	Wayne Davis	28.25.0
	John Justice	28.43.0
	David Kane	29.33.0
	Lyn Crome	30.00.0
	Colin Bruhn	27.22.0
	Chris Brown	25.29.0
	Jim McLure	33.31.0
	Rhonda Schultz	34.40.0
	Charlie Jones	26.24.0
	Bronwyn Morris	29.18.0
	Leanne Callaghan	32.04.0
	Dennis Hughes	31.04.0
	Rod Skidmore	29.57.0
	Tony Parsons	27.28.0
	Joel LeBusque	28.09.0
	Olivia Findlay	27.56.0
	John McKay	35.52.0
	Gary Parkes	31.29.0