





RYAN RULES THE RACECOURSE IN RACE ONE

The new look Ryan Shelton has taken out Race 1 of the Bendigo Athletic Club's Cross Country season, the John Bailey Concreting 5000 metre Handicap held at the Bendigo Jockey





In a field of 35 runners, Shelton ran a time of 21.48 minutes to win from 1st Veteran runner Paul Bennett 19.43, with third placed Megan Bennett being first & fastest female over the line, in 20.24 minutes, 4 seconds faster than her time from last season. Fastest Time went to David Birch in 17.05 minutes,

Fastest Time went to David Birch in 17.05 minutes, finishing in sixth place, one second slower than his fastest time from last year.

Second fastest time was claimed by Frank Scarce in 17.51 minutes, with Brendan O'Brien third best in 18.24 minutes.

Fourth place over the line was the second placed female in Lyn Crome, with Jessica O'Hara the third girl to finish.

Several new athletes took part including Stephen Boyle, Lachlan Shelton, Jeremy Bolton & Kathryn Heagney.

It was also great to see Brendan O'Brien, John Justice & Kerrieanne Hocking making a return to the club.

Eleven juniors took on the Children's 1km event, including 5 new youngsters, with one of them, Amila

Carlile winning in a good time of 4.42 minutes, from Matthew Noden, from the talented Noden Racing Stable, with Xavier Hutchison in third place.

Fastest Time of 3.41 minutes was recorded by Demi Goodall-Hoffman, having her first run with the club

There will be no run next Sunday, being Anzac weekend.

The next run will be on Sunday 2nd May, this being the Mark Ruff Electrical 5000 metre Handicap at the Mandurang Cricket Ground (MCG).

The children's race over 1000 metres will start at 10.00am, with the 5000 metres at 10.30am. Registration from new & existing members will be taken on the day, if desired.

Whilst standard club membership fees are already at a very reasonable price of \$70.00, all new members or anyone who hasn't been a member in the past 2 years or anyone under the age of 21 can register for just \$10.00.

For more information about the Bendigo Athletic Club, please contact Club Secretary-Mark Findlay 54440040 or 0417 556738, otherwise check out the CLUB WEBSITE at;

www.bendigoathleticclub.org.au

Results;

Race 1 John Bailey Concreting 5000 metre Handicap

Ryan Shelton 21.48, Paul Bennett 19.43, Megan Bennett 20.24 (Fastest Female), Lyn Crome 23.00, Mark Stevens 23.02, David Birch 17.05 (Fastest Time), David Kane 23.07, Grant Findlay 21.33, Geoff Graham 23.34, Chook Stewart 19.30, Frank Scarce 17.51, Anthony Hutchison 19.29, Rod Skidmore 23.06, Austin Beamish 20.45, Greg Hilson 18.52, Stephen Boyle 23.57, Joel LeBusque 20.41, Lachlan Shelton20.38, Brendan O'Brien 18.24, John Justice 23.01, Jessica O'Hara 22.47, Jeremy Bolton 21.49, Rhonda Schultz 27.50, Kathryn Heagney 25.00, Kerrieanne Hocking 22.36, Doug Tuhan 22.35, Rob McDonald 19.28, Wolf Heiden 21.35, David Ottrey 21.02, Kevin Shanahan 20.57, Craig O'Hara 25.29, Peter LeBusque 21.37, Rick Ermel 20.05, Richard Schultz 25.47, George Flack 23.25

BAC Children's 1km

Amila Carlile 4.42, Matthew Noden 5.02, Xavier Hutchison 5.13, Demi Goodall-Hoffman 3.41 (Fastest Time), Jaymin Bolton 4.55, Bree Heiden 4.42, Bryden Ermel 4.24, Erin Hilson 4.51, Kyle Hilson 4.50, Alice Bailey 5.12, Jed Bibby 6.02