



## **BENNETT RULES RUFF RACE AT THE MCG**

Paul Bennett has improved on his second placing in race one of the Bendigo Athletic Club Cross Country season, by taking out race two, the Mark Ruff Electrical 5000 metres, run at the Mandurang Cricket Ground, just south of Bendigo.



The race was run on a tough undulating course in the hills behind the Mandurang Cricket Ground with 32 runners taking part.

Bennett ran an excellent time for an over 50 athlete, 20.02 minutes, to beat Club President Mark Stevens 23.14 minutes, with Greg Hilson running on well to take third place in 18.40 minutes.

Fastest time was recorded by Brendan O'Brien in 18.15 minutes, ahead of Josh Nolan 18.23 & Greg Hilson 18.40. Jessica O'Hara finished in 4<sup>th</sup> place, claiming 1<sup>st</sup> Female, 1<sup>st</sup> Under 23 & Fastest Female in 22.14 minutes.

Second Female to finish was Lyn Crome with Rhonda Schultz in third place.

The first three athletes across the line also filled the first three veterans honours.

Club welcomed new runners Jacob Nolan & John Vickers-Lovegrove to the club.

In the Children's 1km race, Jaymin Bolton displayed a blistering finish to win in 4.44 minutes, ahead of Amilia Carlile & Jed Bibby.

Fastest Female was recorded by Demi Goodall-Hoffman in 3.48 minutes, whilst the Fastest Male was Jake Hilson in 3.57 minutes.

There will be no run next Sunday, being Mother's Day.

The next club race will be Race 3, the Kel Pell 6500 metres at the Bendigo Livestock Exchange in Huntly on Sunday, 16<sup>th</sup> May.

The children's race over 1000 metres will start at 10.00am, with the 6500 metres at 10.30am. Race 4 of the BAC season will be one of the big ones, the Bicknell's Sports 6500 metre

Feature Race at the Mandurang Cricket Ground on Sunday 23<sup>rd</sup> May.

To be eligible to run in race four, athletes must have run at least 2 of the first three races of the season.

Race 5 the VM & HM Dreschsler 8000 metres will be run in Melbourne on 30<sup>th</sup> May. The race to be run at Woodlands Park in Bulla will include over \$800 prizemoney for the race winner.

Registration from new & existing members will be taken on the day, if desired.

Whilst standard club membership fees are already at a very reasonable price of \$70.00, all new members or anyone who hasn't been a member in the past 2 years or anyone under the age of 21 can register for just \$10.00.

For more information about the Bendigo Athletic Club, please contact Club Secretary- Mark Findlay 54440040 or 0417 556738, otherwise check out the CLUB WEBSITE at; www.bendigoathleticclub.org.au

Results;

## Race 2 Mark Ruff Electrical Contractors 5000 metre Handicap

Paul Bennett 20.02, Mark Stevens 23.14, Greg Hilson 18.40, Jessica O'Hara 22.14 (Fastest Female), Lyn Crome 23.25, David Kane 23.27, Anthony Hutchison 19.38, Rhonda Schultz 27.15, Chook Stewart 19.47, Jeremy Bolton 21.28, Brendan O'Brien 18.15 (Fastest Time), Peter LeBusque 20.23, Jacob Nolan 19.15, Rod Skidmore 23.33, Wolf Heiden 21.08, Austin Beamish 21.22, David Ottrey 20.51, Grant Findlay 22.39, Terry Crome 20.57, John Justice 23.33, Ryan Shelton 22.35, John Bailey 21.35, John Rose 21.23, Rick Ermel 19.27, Joel LeBusque 21.40, Doug Tuhan 22.57, Josh Nolan 18.23, Craig O'Hara 25.52, Kirrily Burnett 22.45, Rob McDonald 20.30, Richard Schultz 26.03, John Vickers-Lovegrove 22.23

## BAC Children's 1km

Jaymin Bolton 4.44, Amilia Carlile 4.48, Jed Bibby 5.55, Demi Goodall-Hoffman 3.48 (Fastest Time), Jake Hilson 3.57, Alice Bailey 5.07, Kyle Hilson 4.53, Erin Hilson 4.50, Connor Findlay 5.11, Bree Heiden 4.58, Rina McEwan 4.59, Bryden Ermel 4.59