





SCHENKEN SIZZLES A SUPER FIELD AT SALEYARDS

In one of the largest field assembled for a Bendigo Athletic Club race for more than six years, Win TV reporter Natalie Schenken has taken out Race three of the 2010 season, the Kel Pell 6500 metre handicap held at the Bendigo Livestock Exchange in Huntly.



In a super field of 42 runners, Schenken won in a time of 31.55 minutes, 25 seconds clear of Club President Mark Stevens & 2nd year runner Rod Skidmore. Fastest Time honors on the day went to Brendan O'Brien in 23.31 minutes, 9 seconds ahead of Greg Hilson, with Rick Ermel the third fastest. Meg Bennett was Fastest Female in 26.28 minutes. Natalie Schenken also claimed first female over the line, with Jessica O'Hara being the first Under 23 runner.

First Veteran was awarded to Mark Stevens, ahead of Rod Skidmore & David Kane.

In the field of 42 runner, there were 9 female athletes, plus 6 athletes under 23 years of age.

In the Children's 1000 metre event, 12 youngsters lined up with frontmarker Jed Bibby leading all the way to win from Matthew Noden & Amilia Carlile.

Demi Goodall Hoffman claimed fastest time ahead of Bryden Ermel & Jaymin Bolton.

Race 4 of the BAC season will be one of the big ones, the Bicknell's Sports 6500 metre Feature Race at the Mandurang Cricket Ground to be run this Sunday 23rd May. The children's race over 1000 metres will start at 10.00am, with the 6500 metres at 10.30am.

Race 5 the VM & HM Dreschsler 8000 metres will be run in Melbourne on 30th May. The race to be run at Woodlands Park in Bulla will include over \$800 prizemoney for the race winner.

Entries close for this event on Sunday 23rd May.

It's not to late to join the Bendigo Athletic Club, Registration & Entry fees are very reasonable. For more information about the Bendigo Athletic Club, please contact Club Secretary- Mark Findlay 54440040 or 0417 556738, otherwise check out the CLUB WEBSITE at;

www.bendigoathleticclub.org.au

Results;

Race 3 Kel Pell 6500 metre Handicap

Natalie Schenken 31.55, Mark Stevens 28.45, Rod Skidmore 28.41, David Kane 28.56, Grant Findlay 27.04, Rhonda Schultz 34.06, Anthony Hutchison 24.22, Jeremy Bolton 26.44, Jessica O'Hara 28.06, Wolf Heiden 26.03, Greg Hilson 23.40, Chook Stewart 24.51, Megan Bennett 26.28 (Fastest Female), Lyn Crome 29.54, Peter LeBusque 25.42, John Justice 28.59, Kerrieanne Hocking 28.12, Austin Beamish 26.37, Kevin Shanahan 25.41, Jacob Nolan 24.28, John Rose 26.00, Ryan Shelton 27.54, David Ottrey 26.04, Brendan O'Brien 23.31 (Fastest Time), Kirrily Burnett 27.29, Rick Ermel 23.56, Lachlan Shelton 26.36, John Bailey 27.09, Mark Perdon 28.05, Terry Crome 26.36, Josh Sait 26.03, Geoff Graham 31.30, Doug Tuhan 28.40, Kathryn Heagney 32.26, Craig O'Hara 32.23, Adam Parker 26.12, Paul Bennett 25.20, Tony Sait 29.41, Richard Schultz 32.02, John Vickery-Lovegrove 26.58, Andrew Sait 33.43, Gaib Sait 34.25

BAC Children's 1km

Jed Bibby 5.29, Matthew Noden 5.13, Amilia Carlile 4.45, Xavier Hutchison 5.18, Connor Findlay 4.55, Demi Goodall-Hoffman 3.46 (Fastest Time), Bree Heiden 4.43, Jaymin Bolton 4.42, Bryden Ermel 4.29 (Fastest Boy), Kyle Hilson 4.57, Alice Bailey 5.28, Siera O'Brien 6.10