



## JOSH SAIT BACK TO BACK MURCHISON 10KMS

Shepparton based Bendigo Athletic Club star, Josh Sait has taken out the 39<sup>th</sup> running of the Murchison 10000 metre Handicap, making it two in a row, following his victory in 2011.

The event sponsored by Pro Dairy Australia, started at the Murchison Football Ground, in perfect conditions, running through the main streets of Murchison,

before finishing back at the Football Ground.

As one of the backmarkers in the field, Sait progressively made his way through the field, before hitting the lead with 700 metres to go.

Sait returned a personal best of 33.32 minutes, eclipsing his winning time of 2011 of 34.19 minutes, which gained him 2<sup>nd</sup> fastest time on the course, behind the Victorian Cross Country League's David Spence who timed in at 33.09 minutes, to be sixth overall.

Greg Hilson made it a quinella for the Bendigo club, running 36.45 minutes, finishing 28 seconds behind the winner, receiving a bonus of \$100 thanks to Tony Southcombe at the Bridge Hotel in Bendigo Melbourne's Tony Rendina was looking the early winner, eventually finishing in third place in a time of 44.44 minutes, picking up some bonus cash, thanks to Norm Charles, for being the 1<sup>st</sup> Melbourne runner 'On the Bus' to finish.

Fastest female on the course was Corina Kapusta, with a very impressive 37.09 minutes.

David Haigh was the fastest over 40, recording a time of 35.55 minutes, whilst Bendigo's own Terry Crome was the quickest of the over 50's in 39.09 minutes. Greg Whitecross collected the prize of being first novice on handicap. Other Bendigo Athletic Club athletes in the top 10 were race organizer Doug Tuhan in fifth place, 45.42, Tony Sait 7<sup>th</sup> place for the second year in a row with 42.26, Terry Crome 8<sup>th</sup> & Anthony Hutchinson 10<sup>th</sup>, making it four 'Tonys' in the top 10.

## 39th Annual Pro Dairy Australia Murchison 10km Handicap

Josh Sait (BAC) 33.32, Greg Hilson (BAC) 36.45, Tony Rendina (VCCL) 44.44, Tony Parsons (VCCL) 39.25, Doug Tuhan (BAC) 45.42, David Spence (VCCL) 33.09 (fastest time), Tony Sait (BAC) 42.26, Terry Crome (BAC) 39.09, Corina Kapusta (VCCL) 37.09 (fastest female), Anthony Hutchison (BAC) 40.08, Adam Parker (BAC) 37.25, Peter LeBusque (BAC) 41.46, Greg Whitecross (VCCL) 45.31, Jim Berrington (VCCL) 42.14, Irene James (VCCL) 51.05, David Haigh (VCCL) 35.55, Austin Beamish (BAC) 44.53, Ashley Snowden (VCCL) 39.23, Wayne James (VCCL) 42.02, Richard Schultz (BAC) 51.34, Brian Gawne (BAC) 45.50, Janine McKerron (VCCL) 52.58, Brian Cornell (BAC) 45.34, Gary Parkes (VCCL) 47.10, Rhonda Schultz (BAC) 54.26, John Bailey (BAC) 43.10, Dennis Hughes (VCCL) 50.30, Sean Quilty (VCCL) 37.42, Mark Perdon (BAC) 43.55, Roy McKenzie (VCCL) 56.15, Kim Howard (BAC) 50.30, Ryan Shelton (BAC) 53.48, Kate Van Olphen (VCCL) 67.00

There will be no racing this Sunday in Bendigo.

Race 9 of the Bendigo Athletic Club season will be run on Sunday 22<sup>nd</sup> July at No.7 Reservoir at Crusoe Park in Kangaroo Flat, being 'The Boundary Hotel' 10000 metres Handicap.

A Children's 1000 metre race will start at 10am, with the main event starting at 10.30am.

Following the Boundary Hotel run the club will be heading to the Boundary Hotel for lunch from 12.30pm

For more information about the Bendigo Athletic Club, please contact Club Secretary- Brendan O'Brien 54474764, otherwise check out;

CLUB WEBSITE at; <a href="www.bendigoathleticclub.org.au">www.bendigoathleticclub.org.au</a>
Follow us on Twitter; <a href="www.twitter.com/BendigoAthClub">www.twitter.com/BendigoAthClub</a>

