

PARKER PEAKS PERFECTLY TO PINCH PRIZE AT WOODLANDS PARK

Adam Parker has capped a remarkable couple of weeks on the pro Cross Country circuit, winning the Caruana Classic 8km at Woodlands Park in Melbourne on Sunday.

Two weeks prior, Parker took out one of the big local races, the Bicknell's Independent Sports 6500 metres Handicap held at the Mandurang Cricket Ground, collecting \$350.

Sunday's Caruana Classic victory is a first for a Bendigo runner & earns Parker a further \$1000 & will now set his sights on the Flack Advisory Eaglehawk to Bendigo coming up in a few weeks!



Parker broke away from his handicap group early in the event, steadily making his way through the field of 78 runners.

Melbourne's Lisa Roberts led with 2km to go, before being overtaken by Stawell youngster Nathan Makovec inside the final likometre, but with 300 metres to go, it was Parker running to the front & winning in a time of 29.57 minutes. Makovec finished in second place, with Roberts hanging on for third.

Melbourne runner Zac Newman clocked the fastest time of 26.05 minutes, finishing in 14th place.

Grant Findlay was the only other Bendigo runner finishing in the top ten, running 35.23 minutes for a seventh placed finish.



Incorporated into the event was the VM & HM Dreschsler 8000 metre Sealed Handicap for Bendigo runners only, which includes prizemoney of a further \$280.00. Doug Tuhan claimed first prize, ahead of Lyn Crome & Chook Stewart. Josh Sait was the fastest of the Bendigo runners in 27.57 minutes. This Sunday's run is the Schultz & Stewart 6500 metre Handicap at the Wellsford Rifle Range, a children's 1000 metre race will commence at 10am, with the main race starting at 10.30am. For more information about the Bendigo Athletic Club, please contact Club Secretary-Brendan O'Brien 54474764, otherwise check out the CLUB WEBSITE at; www.bendigoathleticclub.org.au

Follow us on Twitter; <u>www.twitter.com/BendigoAthClub</u>

Caruana Classic 8km Results- Woodlands Park, Greenvale

Adam Parker	0:29:57
Nathan Makovec	0:33:37
Lisa Roberts	0:36:47
Colin Davis	0:30:51
Matthew Bateman	0:31:18
Mark Decampo	0:27:05
Grant Findlay	0:35:23
Greg Foran	0:29:39
Gary Blake	0:34:41
Craig Harris	0:29:01
Marcus Boxall	0:30:33
Corina Kapusta	0:31:07
Tony Parsons	0:31:59
Zac Newman	0:26:05
Mark Howard	0:33:52
Peter Lebusque	0:33:10
Josh Sait	0:27:58

Tony Rendina	0:37:01
Duncan Whitford	0:31:33
Carl Fannon	0:29:39
Brendan O'Brien	0:30:11
Lyn Crome	0:37:17
Doug Tuhan	0:37:19
David Haigh	0:28:50
Ashley Snowden	0:32:45
Fiona Ely	0:37:31
Wayne Davis	0:36:47
Matt Grant	0:29:51
Austin Beamish	0:35:29
Chook Stewart	0:33:16
Nick Harding	0:39:16
Tony Sait	0:35:37
Keith Lofthouse	0:39:10
Greg Hilson	0:31:16
David Girolamo	0:32:34
Aaron Howlett	0:29:51
Ted Paulin	0:38:37
Irene James	0:42:38
Marty Johnson	0:32:28
Brad Makovec	0:39:46
David Spence	0:28:35
Terry Crome	0:33:10
Gaynor Radovic	0:45:14
•	0:35:17
Jim Berrington	
Dennis Hughes	0:40:21
Mark Boyle	0:32:55
Murray Harding	0:31:26
Paul Bennett	0:34:27
Joel Donnar	0:31:58
Chris E Brown	0:33:03
Janine McKerron	0:43:29
Sean Quilty	0:30:01
Joel Lebusque	0:35:04
John Bailey	0:35:10
Angela Davis	0:39:42
Greg Whitecross	0:37:28
Adrian Wrout	0:32:28
Daniel Veith	0:33:39
Sathy Olowoniyi	0:36:28
Mark Perdon	0:36:51
Gary Parkes	0:39:53
Collin Wight	0:46:24
David Page	0:33:15
-	
Tom Hecimovic	0:35:32

Roy Mckenzie	0:47:01
John Hertz	0:47:25
John Mackay	0:48:52
Rolan Van Olphen	0:39:00
Jay Blake	0:37:46
Celia Cosgriff	0:39:05
Rosemary Arthur	0:40:51
Keana Tour-May	0:42:55
John Green	0:37:57
Kevin Pardy	0:40:13
Julie Hertz	0:51:29
Keleigh Robinson	0:43:56
Kim Howard	0:44:24
Kate Van Olphen	0:47:54

VM & HM Dreschsler 8000 metre Sealed Handicap

Doug Tuhan 37.17, Lyn Crome 37.15, Chook Stewart 33.16, Peter LeBusque 33.09, John Bailey 35.03, Grant Findlay 35.22, Adam Parker 29.57, Josh Sait 27.57, Austin Beamish 35.29, Tony Sait 35.32, Terry Crome 33.09, Mark Perdon 36.10, Joel LeBusque 34.59, Paul Bennett 34.25, Brendan O'Brien 30.11, Kim Howard 41.25, Greg Hilson 31.16, Rick Ermel DNF