

## Barkmeyer Electrics 5km finds some Spark in Stacey's step!

Shepparton's Stacey Clarkson has clinched the final race of the Bendigo Athletic Club's Cross Country season, the Çarl Barkmeyer Electrics 5000 metres handicap held in Bendigo on Sunday.

After minor placings in her last three runs, Clarkson ran to the front with less than 200 metres to go, leaving Melinda Gilligan in second place and Richard Schultz, third.

Clarkson's run earned her the fastest female time of 20.54 minutes, ahead of Lyn Crome & Melinda Gilligan.

The Bridge Hotel Open Aggregate points also went to Stacey Clarkson, ahead of Melinda Gilligan & Jeremy Boulton.

It goes without saying, but Clarkson also won the points in the Bendigo's Original Pie Shop Ladies Award from Melinda Gilligan & Rhonda Schultz in third place.

Club Champion Josh Sait rebounded this week to take the fastest time honors away from Jacob Nolan.

Sait ran 17.29 minutes, whilst Nolan had to settle for 2<sup>nd</sup> fastest this week, recording 17.47 minutes, with Brendan O'Brien next best with 19.33 minutes.

This week's Flack Advisory Veterans Award placing went to Richard Schultz, John Bailey & Rhonda Schultz.



For the first time this season, Jacob Nolan was the only runner in the Liz & Mark Findlay under 23 Award, claiming maximum points.

Ada Ford ran a great race to win the Children's 1000 metre handicap, whilst Connor Findlay & Jaymin Boulton stormed home to finish in second & third positions respectively.

Bree Heiden recorded the fastest time of 4.10 minutes.

Entries have just closed for the Kyneton Ridges Estate Winery 6500 metres, to be held next Sunday, 18<sup>th</sup> August at 11.00am.

If you still wish to run, please contact Brendan O'Brien as soon as possible. Known Bendigo starters are; Grant Findlay, Greg & Kyle Hilson, Adam Parker, Chook Stewart, Josh Sait, Richard & Rhonda Schultz, Luke Kneebone, Melinda Gilligan, Mark Perdon, Phil Noden & John Bailey.

The top 20 point scorers from the 12 completed club races will go into the BAC Dick Kitt Memorial Final, to be held over 6500 metres at the Bendigo Livestock Exchange in Huntly on Sunday 25<sup>th</sup> August. The finalists will be announced soon!

On Friday 30<sup>th</sup> August, our End of Season presentations will be held at Bendigo's Famous Shamrock Hotel, so please speak to Bev or Lyn for more information & bookings.

For more information about the Bendigo Athletic Club, please contact Club Secretary- Brendan O'Brien 54474764, otherwise check out the CLUB WEBSITE at; <u>www.bendigoathleticclub.org.au</u>

Follow us on Twitter at; <u>www.twitter.com/BendigoAthClub</u> Like our page on Facebook

## **Carl Barkmeyer Electrics 5000 metre results**

Stacey Clarkson 20.54 (Fastest Female), Mel Gilligan 28.05, Richard Schultz 26.27, Jeremy Boulton 19.44, John Bailey 20.54, Jacob Nolan 17.47, Luke Kneebone 19.48, Rhonda Schultz 29.54, Ryan Shelton 24.42, Brendan O'Brien 19.33, Josh Sait 17.29 (Fastest Time), Grant Findlay 23.11, Terry Crome 21.17, Chook Stewart 21.17, Brian Watson 19.36, Lyn Crome 25.40, Greg Hilson 21.25, Steve Emonson 27.42, Natalie Watson 29.22

## Children's 1000 metres

Ada Ford 7.29, Connor Findlay 4.45, Jaymin Boulton 4.16, Ava Stewart 4.49, Bree Heiden 4.10(FT), Alice Bailey 4.16, Olivia Boulton 8.31, Phoebe Ford 10.14