

JOHN BAILEY RUNS A BELTER IN RUFF RACE

John Bailey has held off a fast finishing Michael Preece to win the Mark Ruff Electrical 5000 metres held at the Mandurang Cricket Ground (MCG) on Sunday morning.

Bailey ran a time of 21.13 minutes, after gaining the lead more than 1 kilometre out from the finish, but backmarker Michael Preece was giving chase.



But the downhill finish was enough to get Bailey across the line first, with Preece second & Adam Parker in third place.

Michael Preece recorded the fastest time of 16.40 minutes, ahead of Josh Sait 17.23 & Adam Parker 17.58 minutes.

John Bailey claimed maximum points in the Flack Advisory Veterans Award, ahead of Ross Evans & Austin Beamish. Stacey Clarkson was the Fastest Female on the course recording a time of 20.58 minutes, ahead of Jessica O'Hara 22.18 & Elle Hayes 23.50

In the Bendigo's Original Pie Shop Award for the top womens placings, ended with Elle Hayes, first, Clarkson, second & O'Hara gaining the third placed points. Michael Preece claimed the top points in the Liz & Mark Findlay Under 23 award, ahead of Jacob Nolan & Josh Sait. Ava Stewart was a runaway winner of the 1000 metres Children's Race.

Next Sunday's run is the Kel Pell 6500 metres, starting at 10.30am at the No.7 Reservoir at Crusoe Park in Kangaroo Flat. The Children's race will commence the proceedings

at 10.05am, followed by presentation for Race 2 at 10.20am, prior to commencing the main race.

For more information about the Bendigo Athletic Club, please contact Club Secretary- Brendan O'Brien 54474764, otherwise check out the CLUB WEBSITE at; <u>www.bendigoathleticclub.org.au</u>

Follow us on Twitter at; <u>www.twitter.com/BendigoAthClub</u>



Like our page on Facebook

Mark Ruff Electrical 5000 metre Handicap

John Bailey 21.13, Michael Preece 16.40, Adam Parker 17.58, Jacob Nolan 18.13, Ross Evans 18.01, Austin Beamish 22.33, Brendan O'Brien 18.22, Josh Sait 17.23, Ben Goode 18.14, Matthew Heislers 20.03, Elle Hayes 23.50, Scott Baxter 19.26, Stewart Lang 21.30, Terry Crome 20.32, Stacey Clarkson 20.58, Jessica O'Hara 22.18, Lyn Crome 24.33, Ryan Shelton 24.26, David Heislers 22.43, Demi Goodall-Hoffman 24.36, Richard Schultz 26.48, Billy Makeham 22.20, Kyle Hilson 25.03, David Kane 24.07, Joel LeBusque 22.42, Jason Nickson 22.24, Andrew Sait 21.11, Mark Perdon 22.47, Melinda Gilligan 29.05, Doug Tuhan 24.29, Rhonda Schultz 30.42, Chook Stewart 22.31, Peter LeBusque 22.40, Paul Bennett 23.53, John Rose 23.42, Steve Emmerson 28.57

Children's 1000 metres

Ava Stewart